Clearing Saved Login Credentials

When a new employee will be using a previous team member's account for accessing aACE, the computer being used may cause difficulties. If it has stored the old login credentials, FileMaker will use this info to auto-login with the old account. You can resolve this trouble during the login process or by manually clearing stored credentials.

Interrupt the Automatic Login Process

You can use the keyboard to force the login dialog to display. If you are accessing aACE as a local file set, you can also use this to enter new user credentials; however, if you are accessing aACE with a launcher, you can interrupt the login, but cannot enter new credentials. Instead, you must manually clear the credentials (described below).

  • Mac — Double-click the fmp12 file and immediately hold down the Option key.
    At the login dialog, you can enter new credentials and mark the flag to Save password in Keychain Access. This new info will replace the previous credentials for the auto-login process, including access with an aACE launcher (i.e. the new credentials will become the default user account on this workstation).
  • PC — Hold down the Shift key while you double-click the fmp12 file.
    At the login dialog, you can enter new credentials and mark the flag to Save password in Credential Manager. This updates the auto-login process, as described above.

Manually Clear Stored Credentials

Mac

  1. In the Finder list of Applications, double-click Utilities, then double-click Keychain Access.
  2. In the Keychains used for login, click the column heading Kind to sort the list.
  3. Scroll through the list to locate the credentials with the Kind noted as "FileMaker..." passwords.
  4. Find the entry named "aACE" or "aACEv5v0", right-click it (or Control+click), and select Delete...
  5. At the confirmation dialog, click Delete.
    The next time you access aACE, the login dialog will display.

PC

  1. Click the Windows icon / Start button, then type "Credential Manager" in the search field and press Enter
  2. In the Credential Manager dialog, click Windows Credentials.
  3.  In the list of Generic Credentials, find the entry named "FMP: aACE" or "FMP: aACEv5v0", click the down arrow for that line to expand the details, then click Remove.
  4. At the confirmation dialog, click Yes.
    The next time you access aACE, the login dialog will display.